Internet Law Scholarship

High Tech Law Institute

March 5, 2011

The High Tech Law Institute at Santa Clara University School of Law and the Institute for Information Law and Policy at New York Law School are pleased to announce a new annual works-in-progress series for Internet Law scholarship. The inaugural event will be held at Santa Clara University. Thereafter, the event will rotate between NYLS and SCU each Spring semester.

Presenters & Discussants

Other Events of Interest

Immediately preceding the March 5 work-in-progress event are two other events of interest to Internet Law scholars. We encourage you to join us for one or both of these events.

On March 4, 2011, Santa Clara University is hosting a symposium entitled “47 U.S.C. § 230: a 15 Year Retrospective” to recognize the 15 year anniversary of the statute’s enactment. Featured speakers include former Representative Christopher Cox (one of the two named co-sponsors of the bill that evolved into the statute), Ninth Circuit Chief Judge Alex Kozinski, Kenneth Zeran (the plaintiff in the seminal 230 case Zeran v. America Online), Representative Zoe Lofgren and many more. The event is sponsored by the High Tech Law Institute at Santa Clara University School of Law, and co-sponsors include Harvard Law School’s Berkman Center, Stanford Law School’s Law, Science & Technology program, the Berkeley Center for Law & Technology, the New York Law School’s Institute for Information Law and Policy, the Congressional Internet Caucus Advisory Committee, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, the Media Law Resource Center and the Silicon Valley Intellectual Property Law Association. For more on this event, see Work-in-progress participants get free admission to this symposium.

On March 3, 2011, the Stanford Technology Law Review will hold a symposium on current and emerging issues of secondary or intermediary liability on the Internet. Panels will explore these issues in the context of copyright, trademark, and aspects of privacy law. The event will take place at Stanford Law School.  For more information, visit the event website at

top of page

List of Anticipated Presenters and Discussants

Eniola Akindemowo
Thomas Jefferson School of Law

Lori Andrews
Chicago Kent College of Law

David Ardia
Citizen Media Law Project
Berkman Center for Internet and Society
Harvard Law School

Derek Bambauer
Brooklyn Law School

Ann Bartow
University of South Carolina School of Law

Valentina Bratu

Rob Frieden
Penn State University

Lauren Gelman
BlurryEdge Strategies

Eric Goldman
Santa Clara University School of Law

James Grimmelmann
New York Law School

Jim Harper
The Cato Institute

Robert Heverly
Albany Law School

Dennis Hirsch
Capital University Law School

Dan Hunter
New York Law School

Anne-Claire Jamart
JSD candidate, Cornell Law School

Eric E. Johnson
University of North Dakota School of Law

Hiram Melendez-Juarbe
University of Puerto Rico Law School

David Levine
Elon University School of Law

Paul Levy
Public Citizen

Andrea M. Matwyshyn
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Bill McGeveran
University of Minnesota Law School

Ira Nathenson
St. Thomas University School of Law (Miami)

Tyler Ochoa
Santa Clara Law

Paul Ohm
University of Colorado Law School

David W. Opderbeck
Seton Hall University School of Law

Cheryl Preston
BYU Law School

Matthew Sag
Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Sharon Sandeen
Hamline University Law School

Wendy Seltzer
Center for Information Technology Policy
Princeton University

Jennifer Shkabatur
VAP, Boston University School of Law

Kyung Han Sohn
Visiting Scholar, UCLA School of Law

Berin Szoka

Joseph Tomain
VAP, University of Louisville, Brandeis School of Law

Marketa Trimble
William S. Boyd School of Law
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Jane Winn & Alerian Lockwood
University of Washington School of Law

Felix Wu
Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University

Jane Yakowitz
VAP, Brooklyn Law School

Peter Yu
Drake University Law School

top of page