The Markkula Center for Applied Ethics has announced that 3 law school faculty are among the 18 additional faculty who have been newly elected as Scholars of the Center, recognizing their interest in and engagement with ethical issues in their professional fields. The new Scholars are Deep Gulasekaram, Francisco Rivera, and Gary Spitko, who join 53 other active faculty previously recognized as Faculty Scholars.

The Ethics Center believes that the 71 active faculty now affiliated with the Center are by far the largest number of faculty formally affiliated with any university-based ethics center in the world.  Here is the full list of scholars.

Law professor Margaret Russell was elected by the Steering Committee to join the Steering Committee itself.

Finally, the Steering Committed established a new position of Senior Scholar for retired faculty who plan to continue their interest in ethics and their respective fields. One of the first three Senior Scholars is Law School emeritus professor Jerry Uelmen.


Pratheepan Gulasekaram

Professor of Law

Francisco Rivera Juaristi

Associate Clinical Professor and Director, International Human Rights Clinic

E. Gary Spitko

Associate Dean for Research, Presidential Professor of Ethics and the Common Good, Professor of Law, and Faculty Director of the Conflict Resolution Program

Gerald F. Uelmen

Dean Emeritus

Margaret M. Russell

Associate Professor of Law