Black Law Students Association logo

Mission Statement

To increase the number of culturally responsible Black and minority attorneys who excel academically, succeed professionally, and positively impact the community.

Description

SCU BLSA is dedicated to fostering academic and professional competence, and bringing about meaningful legal and political changes that address issues in the Black community. We welcome all members of SCU Law, regardless of background. Through its affiliation with the National BLSA and other Bay Area legal groups, all members enjoy an extensive network of professional, academic, and social resources.

That National Black Law Students Association (“NBLSA”), is a national organization formed to articulate and promote the needs and goals of Black law students to effectuate change in the legal community. NBLSA has more than 6,000 members and is also comprised of chapters and affiliates in six different countries, including the Bahamas, Nigeria, and South Africa. Organized into six regions (Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Southern, Midwest, Rocky Mountain and Western Region), the organization has more than 200 chapters and is present in all but a few of the nation’s accredited law schools, as well as unaccredited law schools.


2020-2021 Officers

Board:

Co-President Alexis Hatcher ahatcher@scu.edu
Co-President Leah Mesfin lmesfin@scu.edu
Vice President Jenai Howard jhoward@scu.edu
Secretary Adena Ishii aishii@scu.edu
Treasurer Justin Stoner jstoner@scu.edu
Community Service Director Dorothy Boakye-Donkor dboakyedonkor@scu.edu
3L Resource Coordinator Sydnie Mitchell stmitchell@scu.edu
3L Resource Coordinator Alex Sepolen asepolen@scu.edu
3L Resource Coordinator Morgan Willis mwillis@scu.edu
Event/Outreach Chair    

Active Member Organization, Student Bar Association 2020-2021

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SCUBLSA/

Please feel free to contact our officers, or email us at scublsa@gmail.com