The prestigious Jan Jancin Award is a merit-based award that honors Jan Jancin, who served with extraordinary distinction in numerous IP bar leadership roles throughout his career, including both as president of the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) and as the chair of the Section on Intellectual Property Law of the American Bar Association. The Jan Jancin Award is made possible through the generosity of AIPLA and the ABA IPL Section. The AIPLA Past Presidents Award is a merit-based award that is made possible through the contributions to the Foundation each year by past presidents of the AIPLA.

Selection Criteria

Santa Clara Law may submit one nominee who identifies as a member of an underrepresented racial or ethnic group who, although still a student, has nonetheless contributed to the IP law profession through (1) work experience relevant to the practice of intellectual property law, (2) achievement in intellectual property law coursework, (3) active membership or leadership roles in intellectual property law student organizations, (4) published writings on intellectual property law topics, or (5) other efforts that advance the study or practice of intellectual property law. 


The winner of the Jan Jancin Award receives a $5,000 cash honorarium, as well as reasonable travel expenses to attend the presentation of the award in person, which is made each year during either the AIPLA Annual Meeting or a meeting of the ABA IPL Section. The winner of the AIPLA Past Presidents Award receives a cash honorarium of $2,500, and is invited to attend the presentation of the award in person at the AIPLA Annual Meeting.


If you would like to be considered, please complete this form, no later than April 24, 2023

Have questions? Contact Joanna M. Justus, HTLI Managing Director, at