Friday, May 17, 2019: Commencement Liturgy, Mission Church. Mass starts at 4:00 pm with the Faculty reception to immediately follow at the Adobe Lodge.

Saturday, May 18, 2019: Commencement Ceremony and Reception, Mission Gardens. Ceremony starts at 9:30 am with the reception to immediately follow.

NEW RULES Regarding Materials Allowed and Prohibited in the Mission Gardens

All guests will be required to go through a security checkpoint prior to entering the gardens. ​Please click ​HERE​ for map with designated checkpoints. ​There will be 5 checkpoints, indicated by the blue arrows on the map. Please tell your guests to plan on showing up a little early to get through security prior to the ceremony. The ceremony starts at 9:30, some folks start showing up at 7:00 to get seats in the front row. Your guests will be fine showing up closet to 9-ish. Campus Safety estimates that it should take about 15 minutes to get through the checkpoint. Questions​ should be directed specifically to Mike Brady at

NEW RULES Regarding​ Materials​ Allowed and​ Prohibited in the Mission Gardens

At the security checkpoints, Campus Safety Officers will be checking for the prohibited items​. Law enforcement guests are encouraged to check in with security on the day of the event​.​ Please click ​HERE​ for a list of allowed and prohibited items​.

Academic Attire

Attire rentals will begin on Monday, May 6, 2019. The attire rentals will be downstairs in the Text department at the online order/buy-back counter located near the Law Section of the bookstore. Come in through the main entrance and go down to the Text Department. The cost for the cap and gown rental this year is $125.00. Students keep the tam, tassel and hood and return the gown after the ceremony. You do not need to pre-order a gown. The Bookstore purchases the gowns in bulk according to height. You will need to go in and give your name and height. You will receive your attire (a cap, gown and hood) and a name card. This is the name card you will give to the Professor announcing names during the ceremony. The name card also has your seat number on it. Make sure to bring this card with you to the graduation ceremony!


Order graduation announcements from Balfour/CB Graduation Announcements via the web at or by calling 1 (800) 433-0296. Your degree is “Juris Doctor”, or if you are in the LL.M. program “Legum Magister”.

Reserved Seating and Reserved Parking

Reserved seating and parking will be available for individuals with a medical or physical disability. Please complete the Reserved Seating-Parking for 2018 by clicking here. Please don’t wait until the last minute to complete this form! All forms must be completed by no later than Wednesday, May 8, 2019. All seats will be released 15 minutes before the ceremony begins. All other seating and parking is on a first-come first-serve basis. If you’d like to drop off relatives, family or friends please do so in the parking lot behind Adobe Lodge, off Lafayette Street. This is the closest area to the ceremony – but you may not park here!

There will be a handicapped shuttle available at the North Campus Garage on Franklin Street to assist those with mobility issues closer to the ceremony – specifically in front of the Mission Church.

Commencement Speaker TBD

Hotel Recommendations

Candlewood Suites
481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95053
(408) 241-9305
(across the street from the University)

The Mission Inn Santa Clara
859 El Camino Real, Santa Clara 95053
(408) 244-2840
(0.6 mile to the University)

Best Western University Santa Clara
1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
(408) 244-8313
(1.1 mile to the University)

DeAnza Hotel
233 West Santa Clara Street, San Jose, CA 95128
Reservations: (800) 843-3700/ Hotel Direct: (408) 286-1000
(3 miles to the University)

The Fairmont Hotel San Jose
170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
(408) 998-1900
(4 miles to the University)

Marriott Hotel San Jose
301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
(408) 280-1300
(4 miles to the University)

Hilton Hotel San Jose
300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110
(408) 287-2100
(6.4 miles to the University)

Other Downtown San Jose hotels


For any additional questions please contact the Dean’s Office (Charney Hall 311) at or (408) 554-4362.