Middle Eastern Law Students Alliance

The Middle Eastern Law Student Association (MELSA) is committed to promoting awareness of cultural and political Middle Eastern issues by educating the legal community, creating an academic and professional environment that promotes tolerance and excellence for Middle Eastern law students, and enthusiastically supporting the civil rights of all individuals.

MELSA delivers on its mission by sponsoring speakers who promote dialogue on critical issues facing every law student, as well as hosting networking and social opportunities for all students to meet lawyers and fellow law students from all backgrounds.

Co-President Shaudee Dehghan sdehghan@scu.edu
Co-President Nichole Hathorn nathorn@scu.edu
Internal Vice President Barbara Boktor bboktor@scu.edu
Internal Vice President Nadine Talaat ntalaat@scu.edu
External Vice President TBA
Treasurer Sara Forghani sforghani@scu.edu
Secretary & Communications Director Evelyn Minaise eminaise@scu.edu
Secretary & Communications Director Sara Torkian storkian@scu.edu

First Meeting of Fall: TBD

MELSA informative lunchtime event: November 8, Bannan 127

SALSA/MELSA Annual Banquet: TBD (spring)

  • Commonly known as the best banquet every year, with tickets consistently selling out!
  • Featuring a guest speaker, a delicious Middle Eastern buffet, open-bar and dancing.
  • Everyone is welcome to attend and we recommend that you purchase your tickets early to avoid missing out on a very popular celebration.

Contact: eminaise@scu.edu and storkian@scu.edu for additional information on joining or contributing to MELSA!

Active Member Organization, Student Bar Association 2017-2018